Daily (or nearly daily) Paintings in 2013

Late in 2012, I decided that painting 300 small, nearly daily paintings in 2013 will teach me to better identify key elements in my subject matter and record them in a timely manner on the canvas.  I usually don’t make new year’s resolutions, believing it a recipe for failure to make a life change in such a “cold turkey” fashion, but these daily studies seem like a learning experience that can really benefit me, whether I make it to 300 or not.  Finding Leslie Saeta’s blog post “30 Paintings in 30 Days” at http://lesliesaeta.blogspot.com/2012/12/thirty-paintings-in-thirty-days.html sealed my resolve to try it.

These are by no means masterpieces (I’d painted about four still lifes in previous 20 years!), but each has taught me something that will improve my skill with my usual subject matter- landscapes & livestock.  I’ve learned to “dive in” rather than plan too much; the stress of trying to create something wonderful is releaved when I look at it as a quick study of form, color, edges and values.  Learning this much after four paintings excites me and encourages me to continue on.  See more of my work at www.sonjacaywood.com  or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/sonjacaywood.art and be sure to check out Leslie Saeta’s link above for many many artists taking the 30 paintings in 30 days challenge.

Image

#1: 8×10 oil, 1/1/13

Already this first painting seems dull in comparison to the next two.  I love old, brightly colored dishes.  This blue bowl cried for the bright orange of the cuties, which were deliciously sweet.

Image

#2: 5×7 oil, 1/2/13

I finally have a reason to use the flea market finds I adore for their color and shape.  This painting pleased me more than the first because of the addition of yellow & red.

Image

#3: 5×7 oil, 1/3/13

I added my great grandma’s little orange creamer because I love it, and also because I’m thrifty, and had a lot of orange paint on my palette.  I’m starting to see more reflected color on these shiny objects, and trying to trust the values instead of washing them out.

Image

#4: 5×7 oil, 1/4/13

I changed it up today, having only a few minutes to spend in the studio after supper.  This was my husband’s grandma’s little vase- termed a “butt” vase rather than a “bud” vase because of its unique shape.  I should have spent more time on it, but I learned to choose shadow colors with more care in the future.

Leave a Reply

